Selfie grabs scout’s attention, leads to model success

13 Mar

fit3

By Millie Alder, Bond University Journalism Student

A gym selfie has changed Gold Coast teenager Casey Short’s life when Lorna Jane approached her to become a fitness model.

In September 2012 Casey  uploaded a photo on Instagram of the progress she had made from healthy eating and regular exercise.

Since then she has been on the cover of the Fitspiration Campaign for Lorna Jane, created a health and fitness blog, came third in an international body building competition and completed her certificate in personal training.

Healthy living activist Casey  said that Lorna Jane discovered her when she used the hashtag #nowmoveit on one of her gym progress photos.

“One of Lorna Jane’s scouts asked me to send through a couple of photos of myself and within 24 hours they had invited me to their Brisbane headquarters for a casting,” she said.

Casey Short on the cover of the November 2012’ Fitspiration Campaign’ for Lorna Jane.

Casey Short on the cover of the November 2012’ Fitspiration Campaign’ for Lorna Jane.

The Lorna Jane  website said: “Casey wowed us so much on the shoot that she became the covergirl of the campaign, and appeared in Lorna Jane shop fronts nationwide – and with no former modelling experience.”

Casey said that shooting for Lorna Jane was one of the proudest moments in her life.

“Since I’ve began my active living journey, I have become more confident within myself and don’t have the need to wear excessive amounts of makeup or die my hair,” she said.

In November 2013 Casey scored her dream job as a personal trainer at Human Performance Center in Miami and has emerged to be one of the most acknowledged trainers on the Gold Coast.

“I plan on building up my personal training and helping as many people as I can, it’s why I started in the beginning because I enjoy making other people feel good about themselves,” she said.

Last week Casey was personally contacted from professional surfer Alana Blanchard for one on one personal training sessions.

Casey plans to continue on her active living journey through mentoring her clients, helping them to believe in themselves and to achieve their personal goals.

One of Casey’s clients Remi Hill said that Casey has helped her gain an understanding of strength training and nutrition.

“Casey’s guidance has impacted on all areas of my life,” Remi said.

“In the last year I have lost 15kg and am now starting to think about competing in a bikini fitness competition in May, through my training and support thanks to Casey.

Casey's Instagram pictures

Casey’s Instagram pictures

“She pushes me beyond my limits every week and has made me a happier person in general.”

Casey said that she has many business ideas for the future, one of them being to own a personal training studio with a tasty health food café attached.

To contact Casey or for fitness inspiration and healthy recipes, check out her blog and follow her on Instagram.

Leave a Reply

