Younger player kicking goals to further football career

2 Apr
Dauntae Mariner has his soccer career on track. Picture: Supplied

Dauntae Mariner has his soccer career on track. Picture: Supplied

By Gracie Clough, Bond University Journalism Student 

Schoolboy Dauntae Mariner, 15, has made his mark as an upcoming football star with recognition from Adidas.

The Southport School student, and nephew of Socceroo player Tim Cahill, said he has had a commercial agreement with the sports brand officially since last year.  

A representative from Adidas saw me play and offered to support me when I was younger,” Dauntae said.

“Last year I met the head of Adidas football Australia at the Royal Pines Golf Club.

“He had also heard of me and he saw me play, so they continued to support me.”

Dauntae has recently returned from a trip to the United Kingdom where he played football for two weeks.

He said that the trip has been the highlight of his career.

“When I travelled to the UK earlier this year, I scored my first goal on UK soil against one of the many great clubs in the UK called the Wolverhampton Wanderers,”Dauntae said. 

Dauntae has been playing football since the age of six and said that his goal is to play the game full-time.

“It has been a dream of mine since I was 10 years old,” Mr Mariner said.

“I would one day love to play for Everton.

“As for now I just need to be around good educators and enjoy my journey.”

The UK was just the start for the football prodigy, as he has a series of upcoming matches that are set to propel his career.

“I’m playing for The Southport School in the Easter competition soon, followed by eight rounds of GPS (Great Public Schools) matches,”Dauntae said.

“On the weekends I’m playing for the Brisbane Roar Under 18s side in the NPL (National Premier Leagues) competition.

“Later this year in October I have been asked to go back over to the UK to play again.” 

Leave a Reply

