Swimmer Jenna calm as she heads into Olympic trials

31 Mar

By Amy Forrester, Bond University Journalism Student

Coast swimmer Jenna Strauch remains collected and calm despite heading into the make-or-break of the Olympic trials in Adelaide next week.

Jenna moved from the Melbourne Vic Centre to the Gold Coast this year to train under head coach Richard Scarce at Bond Swimming Club.

“I felt like I needed a change of scenery and the Gold Coast seemed like a pretty good place to be,” the 19-year-old said.

“I really enjoy it here; the training is hard but I feel like it’s effective and hopefully it’ll pay off at trials.”

She will be racing in the 50m, 100m and 200m breaststroke, with the 200m as her main event.

She said that while she is unsure of her chances of making the Australian Olympic team, she will go into the competition with no expectations.

“I’m going in not expecting anything, and I will just try my best and see what will happen,” she said.

“If everything goes well, hopefully I’ll get a few PB.s and maybe make a final or two.”

Despite these national championships being the one event swimmers train years for, Jenna seemed calm and collected.

“Of course I’m nervous and excited but I try not to let all the hype and excitement get to me just yet,” she said.

“While I can’t wait to get down there to watch all the racing and to be a part of this event, I have to keep a steady head about it; I have to focus on myself and doing the best I can.”

Her coach Richard Scarce said not getting too excited too early is an important thing.

“Open nationals is a big event for swimmers, this one in particular as Olympic trials only come around once every four years,” he said.

He said he is happy with the way she has trained and he thinks she is on track to do well next week.

Leave a Reply

